LagosPhoto: The Megacity and the Non-City

The fourth edition of the annual LagosPhoto Festival in Lagos, Nigeria runs from 26 October - 16 November. LagosPhoto is the first and only international arts festival of photography in Nigeria. This year’s theme, The Megacity and the Non-City, explores how the development of urban centres in Africa and the technical advance of photography have transformed the continent's sense of place in a globally connected world. 

In the series RESURGENCE: A MANIFESTO, Adeola Olagunju explores the performative aspects of photography, documenting herself in self-portraits that compare the relationship between the individual and the urban environment in Nigeria. Olagunju was the first place winner of the Etisalat Photography Competition 2012. © Adeola Olagunju. Courtesy of the artist and LagosPhoto Festival 2013.

Cristina De Middel is a Spanish fine art and documentary photographer who, with her
series The Afronauts, enjoys blurring the lines between reality and fiction. She has been exhibited internationally and has received many awards and prizes such as the Infinity Award from New York’s International Center of Photography. © Cristina de Middel. Courtesy of the artist and LagosPhoto Festival 2013.

C-STUNNERS is an ongoing series in which Cyrus Kabiru creates and wears artistic bifocals. The work places itself somewhere between fashion, wearable art, performance and one-of-a-kind commodity. C-STUNNERS has a certain energy and playfulness that captures the sensibility and attitude of Nairobi youth. © Cyrus Kabiru. Courtesy of the artist and LagosPhoto Festival 2013.

LagosPhoto introduces the world premiere of internationally renowned photographer Samuel Fosso’s new photographic series, The Emperor of Africa. © Samuel Fosso. Courtesy of the artist and LagosPhoto Festival 2013.

Participating Artists: Leonce Raphael Agbodjelou (Benin), Akintunde Akinleye (Nigeria) Kelechi Amadi-Obi (Nigeria), Jelili Atiku (Nigeria), Adam Broomberg and Oliver Chanarin (South Africa/UK), Kudzanai Chiurai (Zimbabwe), Marc C. (USA), Jerome Delay (France), Samuel Fosso (Cameroon), Glenna Gordon (USA), Jane Hahn (USA), Jan Hoek (The Netherlands), Ayana V. Jackson (USA), Samuel James (USA), Cyrus Kabiru (Kenya), Namsa Leuba (Belgium), Nicola Lo Calzo (Italy), Obinna Makata (Nigeria), Cristina De Middel (Spain), Anthony Monday (Nigeria), Hauwa Mukan (Nigeria), Obi Nwokedi (Nigeria/UK), Lakin Ogunbanwo (Nigeria), Karl Ohiri and Sayad Hassan (UK), Uche Okpa-Iroha (Nigeria), Adeola Olagunju (Nigeria), Joe Penney (USA), Ahmet Polat and Erik Vroons (Turkey/The Netherlands), Lindsay Sawyer (UK), Mouhamadou Sow (Senegal), Andrea Stultiens (The Netherlands), Afose Sulayman (Nigeria), THANKSTHANKSAFRICA (Nigeria/Canada), Charles Placide-Tossou (Benin), Patrick Willocq (France), Hans Wilschut (The Netherlands).